Random Inkings

April 18, 2008

When Being Stubborn is a Good Thing

Filed under: Random — Little Miss @ 8:37 pm

Can I just start off by asking, isn’t it Spring? Cuz if it is, around here you could have fooled me. Good God, it’s snowing again. And I won’t bore you with yet another snow picture, because I’ve posted them all over this blog and my Little Miss blog. I am soooo OVER the snow. Yes, it’s pretty. Yes, it’s peaceful. But I am just done with it.

Okay, that’s out of my system. Thanks. Moving on.

So, what about being stubborn is good? When you stick to your guns to get what you know is the right thing for you. When you are true to yourself. (Not talking material stuff here, I’m talking life goals.) 

I recall being stubborn because I didn’t like the answers doctors were giving me about my fibro – before I knew what it was. I just knew it wasn’t the lame diagnosis they were all giving me because they were too lazy to look further than the obvious, which was that I need to lose about 75 pounds (or so.) I kept on pushing on, and my stubbornness to prove them right or prove them wrong paid off. Fibro wasn’t the diagnosis I was expecting – and I certainly do NOT want this crap – but at least it was a true diagnosis.

Now, I’m being stubborn in the work world. I’m sticking to my guns that I will accept only employment that allows me to work from home. This will be work through my own business as I build it, as well as through assignments that my previous employer calls me back for or another favorite agency finds for me.

I learned all about trusting myself and being true to myself this week.

A bit of background. There are two types of agencies that I’ve encountered. One is focused on simply placing you at a company as contingent staff, or staff augmentation, where they make big bucks off your work. They really don’t care so much if it’s a fit for you (and often they don’t even bother trying to figure that part out), more they just care that they place you somewhere. Then there are the agencies that are consulting firms themselves, and they essentially subcontract out some of their writing and editing work to me. This latter type of arrangement works very well for both those firms and me.

The first type of agency I just described – the contingent staff type of firm – sent me for a job interview yesterday at the Big Kahuna of Software Companies. This job was not a fit and I knew it before I even went. I just knew. My intuition told me that this firm wasn’t really interested in fitting me with the right kind of work and accommodation arrangement, but more with making a sale. I almost killed my body getting out there, the stress of sitting through interviews trying to sell myself for a job I didn’t want, and driving all the way home. I’ve been paying for it in spades today.

The lesson? I know more about myself than I think I do, sometimes. When I was telling myself in the middle of the interview that a) I did not want this job and b) I was not a good fit, why did I not just stop the process then, politely thank them for their time, and move on? Why did I not listen to myself?

Today, I wrote to the agency, told them it wasn’t a fit, and gave them my updated resume that is targeted at the kind of work I really want to do. Hopefully they will listen, but likely, I will never hear from that agency again.

The second half of the lesson? Stick to your guns. Don’t let your path get diluted and distracted by things you know in your heart will not work. Keep moving forward on the path that you know is right for you. Good things will come as you continue to be true to yourself.

(P.S. During the time it took me to write and edit this post, we have another inch of snow on the ground.)

4 Comments »

  1. I heart you, Little Miss Stubborn. You’re my hero. Good things are definitely going to come your way.

    Comment by Moonbeam McQueen — April 19, 2008 @ 8:24 am | Reply

  2. @MB – You are sweet. I heart you too and I am confident good things are happening in the universe for you as well. I just know it. ;)

    Comment by Little Miss — April 19, 2008 @ 8:29 am | Reply

  3. Hi LM,
    I’m researching blogs in preparation for a new Internet Marketing campaign and ran across yours. You have a real flair for writing. Looks like you’ve been blogging for a while. I like the simplicity of your blog template and the pics make it fun.

    Congratulations on knowing who you are and what you want to do. I’m sure you’ll find a work from home job that’s perfect for you. I work from home and love it. It allows me to be a full time caregiver for my mom.

    I wish you success with Weight Watchers. I’ve lost 40 pounds and kept it off for 3 years now. The only plan that’s worked for me is Cinch.

    Hang in there. Spring is right around the corner. :-)

    ~Marilyn

    Comment by Marilyn — April 20, 2008 @ 6:13 pm | Reply

  4. I banned a guy from setting foot in my house ever and I decided that even if anyone tries to convince me to let him in after all it will not happen because he’s childish,greedy, a sore loser a jerk and really ill mannered and hardheaded.

    Comment by Simon Persica — April 10, 2012 @ 4:42 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Rubric Theme. Blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

