Random Inkings

June 8, 2008

Ms Property Manager: You Suck

Filed under: Random — Little Miss @ 11:51 am

A few months ago, I wrote about Condo Associations and how I hate the one I live in. My neighbors are fine, it’s the lady who manages the association that drives me into a frenzy of adrenaline and negativity.

Last month, around the end of May, we all received a newsletter saying we needed to do our homeowners maintenance tasks. This involved:

  • Pressure washing our roofs
  • Pressure washing our siding
  • Painting our trim and doors
  • Landscaping for summer (clearing up dead plants, etc.)

They asked us to all do this by June 23. WTF? A month’s notice?

This week, we all received “reminder” postcards of the due date and it also told us that if we didn’t do these things, we’d receive fines and assessments.

Again, WTF?

Have I mentioned that it is still friggin’ winter here? It has been rainy and cold – about 45 degrees – with the exception of one nice weekend about six weeks ago. Today is the first day we’ve not had any rain in a while, and my new neighbors – a young couple – across the street are outside trimming their hedges and she’s wearing a sweatshirt, sweat pants, and gloves – not for protection but for warmth.

So, I sent off a nastygram to the property manager. I informed her that, sorry, I wouldn’t be meeting that deadline. First, I can’t physically do all those things myself. Second, I have no income to pay for it right now, and third, had she noticed that it has been RAINING?

The smart thing, Ms Property Manager, would have been to guide the board to finding a reasonably priced contractor for these services – one who would discount his rate based on volume – and then offer the homeowners the option to hire said contractor at reduced price, and have the cost rolled into the homeowner dues over the span of the next 12 months. I’m not the only homeowner around here who finds that mandatory task list and arbitrary deadline just a bit unreasonable.

In addition to the fact that the homeowner’s association refuses to do their part to maintain the perimeter of the property that runs along the greenbelt, keeping the fire danger at bay – when we ever do get heat – and the bobcats and coyotes from encroaching on our backyards and pets. That’s what we pay dues for.

But Ms. Property Manager is too stupid to think of making it easier for the homeowners instead of sending irritating, threatening postcards and wasting our money.

I did let her know if she could make an arrangement like I suggested, I’d be more than happy to accommodate her. Otherwise, I’d do the work when I could find friends and family to do it and when the weather cooperates- more like July or August around here.

 

4 Comments »

  1. I love that you sent a letter! Painting trim and doors? Wow, that’s control. Is there a recommended color? ha

    I finally got around to paying our h.a. dues. I never see a thing that they do other than talk about the scum in the ponds. They put out a newsletter occasionally…..maybe I’m paying for the paper!

    Comment by Bev — June 10, 2008 @ 5:42 am | Reply

  2. Hi Bev – Yup, there’s a recommended color. There were color schemes for each model type in the development. I’m tempted to paint mine a darker brown than the poop color already on there, or a deep red. Partially just to piss them off. Our HOA sent out a newsletter too, and you can bet we paid for that. And the 3×5 postcards that were so nicely printed to remind us that we would be fined if we didn’t follow this insane deadline. This manager is a stay-at-home mom and works the property management job part time. In my opinion, a property manager should be advising the board not just being their puppet. My siding does need powerwashing – we have a very moist climate up here so the north side gets mossy. However, the house is barely 7 years old. I can’t see that all the exterior trim needs painted already.

    Comment by Little Miss — June 10, 2008 @ 7:21 am | Reply

  3. I hate it when people are so sheltered that A: They seem to have nothing better to do than worry about what color trim paint the neighbors are using, or if there are more than three unraked leaves in a yard. I know that there have to be certain standards, but unless you have a car up on blocks in your yard, haven’t mowed in three years, or you’ve painted your condo black when everyone else’s is beige, they should leave you the hell alone.

    Oh, B, there’s a B: I also hate it when people are so sheltered that they just assume that everyone can afford (physically and/or monetarily) at any given time to meet their petty demands and to do it within the time frame of their choosing.

    I say we form a posse and go beat up everyone involved. Then we’ll paint your trim and doors– deep red.

    Comment by Moonbeam McQueen — June 15, 2008 @ 8:26 am | Reply

  4. My property manager sucked, too. I wish there was a way tenants could list the worst of the worst of these people. The property managers and landlords get together to make all tenants look like worthless slobs, even when we pay our rent, which is essentially paying their way. My manager managed to find a reason to keep every cent of my $1,000 deposit, even after I spent 40 hours meticulously cleaning the place and $500.00 out of pocket. Our only recourse is court action. I can’t even find a way to leave a bad review for her company.

    Comment by Jessica — April 7, 2010 @ 10:18 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Rubric Theme Blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

