Random Inkings

January 20, 2008

Editing, uh Rewriting

Filed under: Random — Little Miss @ 11:00 am
Tags: , , , , ,

Today I have to do more work for a client. I have to turn in a first draft Wednesday – and actually hope to do so earlier than expected. It’s funny, however, how they call it editing when I’m really rewriting chopped up cut-and-paste content. But I’m grateful for the work as it’s paying the bills and allowing me the freedom I need to work from home, on my own schedule, and still work in time to help family – like my mom – when they need it.

But I’m rewriting, not editing. Next time, I’ll clarify this more with the client before starting. And the content is hard to understand. It’s almost like rewriting in a foreign language with a dictionary that has every other word missing. This company has their own internal language – as do many big corporations in the U.S. – and I find myself constantly accessing their acronym list to understand what they are saying.

More often than not, the content puts me to sleep. The challenge when working alone is how to not succumb to the temptation to nod off for a while. I’m usually successful with that, and frequent trips to the coffee machine or water spiggot help, as does a brisk walk outside, even if it’s only for five minutes.

And today there’s a football game. You bet I’ll have that on in the background.

1 Comment »

  1. Wait a minute … you’re not supposed to nod off for awhile? So that’s what I’ve been doing wrong.

    Comment by Wendy — January 20, 2008 @ 8:35 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

