Random Inkings

January 27, 2008

It’s No Coincidence

Filed under: Random — Little Miss @ 6:55 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

I believe that nothing happens by coincidence. As a child, of course, I didn’t understand what this meant, but as I’ve gotten older, I’ve had too many experiences that couldn’t be explained away as just coincidence. Besides, I prefer to believe that my life is not just a random mix of experiences.

Yesterday, my daughter and I were going to go scrapbooking at a friend’s house, so I spent some time digging through the boxes in my garage looking for my scrapbooking materials. I used to sell Creative Memories so I have a whole ten years’ supply of paper, albums, stickers, you name it. I’d still be selling – rather, buying – it today if I weren’t so broke from my recent foray into unemployment.

When I boxed everything up for my hardwood floor installation last July, I was not too diligent about labeling my boxes. So I had to open several boxes. One was full of books. While digging, I found a couple books I’d been looking for but also found one I wasn’t looking for.

consultingbook.jpg

This book is copyright 1981 and belonged to my dad. I’ve kept many of his books as I figured somday they might be as helpful to me as they were to him. What’s great about this book – which I haven’t started reading yet – is that it is full of underlines and writing by him. Big stars drawn in next to important text. It will be fascinating to read this book.

What’s even cooler to me is a discussion I had with my mother and her friends on Friday night. We were talking about my dad and how we felt he was always around – his presence felt sometimes more strongly than at other times. I remember commenting that I didn’t always feel a strong spiritual presence – like a vision or a ghost or anything paranormal like that – but that I felt he was sort of orchestrating good events in my life and approving of choices I made.

Finding this book to me is another example that he’s watching over me, that he loves me dearly, and that he approves of the direction I’m heading, and that he’s still my father and suggesting good things for me to read, to educate myself, and to be the best that I can be. And reading this book will feel like he’s right here with me once again.

1 Comment »

  1. That was impressive!

    I believe that everything in this life is well arranged towards the optimum, thinking like that saves a lot of effort trying to understand what’s going around us. When I switch back to old days I can obviously see how many things that happened in my life couldn’t be happening by just coincidence.

    This was really thoughtful of you, wish you all the best!

    Comment by AxeCity — June 7, 2008 @ 11:10 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

