Random Inkings

March 4, 2008

Yesterday was a good day

Filed under: Random — Little Miss @ 8:53 am

Aside from working, I had appointments with my massage therapist and the woman who does the Synergie treatment on me. What do you call that job? I have no idea… the synergist? Anyhoo… after that, I felt pretty good, came home and worked a bit more, then my daughter (the one with the babies) came and picked me up. We drove then went to meet her hubby at his work and drop off her oldest son. Then, Cindy and I both joined Weight Watchers.

Okay, for many that’s probably a big anti-climactic whohooo, but it’s big for me. What’s funny is we both joined two-and-a-half years ago when Cayden was a baby. I didn’t stick with it because I couldn’t afford it at the time, and neither could Cindy. Also, I probably was under the egotistical assumption that I could take what I’d learned in three months and do it myself. Clearly that was a very poor assumption because here I am again, weighing what I did when I started then, if not ten pounds more. Now here we are, with another baby in tow, and my attitude is completely different. I’m here for so many different and better reasons, and doing this for me. Everything about this time is better and different. Here are a few reasons why:

  1. This is for me but I have accepted that I cannot do this alone. Clearly, I’ve tried, and look how well that’s worked for me.
  2. They have a new membership option that includes the online membership and unlimited meetings. This is good for me so if I need a midweek reminder or in-person support, I go sit myself in a meeting for a half hour and listen or talk.
  3. All their materials and handouts have been updated and seem to be better for me, including getting started shopping lists. Their online tools rock!
  4. I have decided that even though my age number ranks me among the middle aged, I have no intention of looking or acting that part – yet – let alone feeling it any longer.

The timing of all this is absolutely perfect.

My younger daughter is out of the house visiting new friends in Florida for a week and I have the house to myself. This means I’m going to purge the cupboards of all her carbohydrate-laden crap, box it up and put it in the garage, or give it away. None of it comes back in the house – at all! For a compulsive (over)eater, having bread and ice cream in the house is like sticking a bottle of vodka under an alcoholic’s nose and saying don’t drink it. I just can’t have it in the house. I see it, I smell it, I want to eat it.

Seeing the handsome long-time male friend of mine this last couple weeks has also been an impetus. It’s highly likely that the only reason he’s appeared in my life is to instigate me into making a change in my life. Like Wendy is doing, it’s time for my Act II. As much as I’d like to say men should love me for me (extra pounds and all), I know that’s just naive. Appearances count, they always have and they always will.

Working from home full time, I have the luxury and benefit of my own kitchen and fully stocked refrigerator downstairs so I can easily eat healthy without worrying about packing a lunch. I can stop and take a walk up the hill and back whenever I want. I have everything I need to be successful at this.

Most of all, I am starting to feel better and I want to continue that path. I don’t like the way I’ve let my body change and how it makes me feel. I want to be able to have confidence when I’m in public, wear my pretty summer skirts without feeling like I have to hide my body. I want to wear a swimsuit this summer and feel confident in it.

And finally, I want to overcome my hatred and fear of food. I can’t live without it, so I’d better learn how to live with it, and treat my body with respect, giving it the proper nourishment I should have been doing all along.

I’m excited about this new phase in my life. Starting a new business, starting a new me.

Oh, and after our WW meeting, Cindy and I went to Applebee’s where they have special WW menus and had a nummy steak and only 7 points! Woohooo.

2 Comments »

  1. i will be cheering you on from cyberspace! many of my friends have done really well with WW. not the big instantaneous weight loss, but steady, consistent, and more permanent weight loss.

    teri

    Comment by mermaids — March 4, 2008 @ 2:19 pm | Reply

  2. Thank you, Teri. That’s exactly what I’m going for – permanent! I’d love to have results like 16 pounds a week like the Biggest Loser folks, but that’s unrealistic for me. LOL.

    Comment by Little Miss — March 4, 2008 @ 2:30 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

